Welcome !!!.

FREE Listing.

Road Conditions.

Hotel List.

Truck Stop List.

Pilot Car Store.

Advertise Here!.

Privacy & Security.

Welcome !!!
        US & CANADA PILOT CARS

THE MOST VISITED

THE MOST COMPLETE

THE MOST INFORMATIVE
HALF A MILLION HITS A MONTH!!!!!!!!!
Pilot Car Store
Check out our Pilot Car Supply Store Where You’ll find most everything you need to run your Pilot Car Service, at GREAT LOW PRICES...  Place your order online and have your supplies waiting for you back at the office.
Click Here for CONVENIENCE, SELECTION, SAVINGS and QUALITY!!!
PROFESSIONAL PILOT CAR INSURANCE
CALL (801) 488-0085 NOW FOR QUOTE!
TOTAL INDUSTRY EXPERTISE and PROMPT, PERSONAL SERVICE!
CHARLES JAMES CAYIAS Insurance, Inc.
LOUISIANA PILOT CAR REGULATIONS

When Permit Is Needed
Over 8'6" wide
Over 13'6" high
Trailer over 59'6" long
Over 80,000 lbs.

Special Information Needed
You choose how many days you want permit to be valid--- fees are $10/day

Times Of Movement
Sunrise to Sunset unless prohibited under restricted travel section
Oversize loads over 12 feet wide may not travel on the Interstate System through Shreveport, Monroe, Lake Charles, Baton Rouge and New Orleans from 7:00 A.M. to 9:00 A.M. and from 3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M., Monday through Friday.

When Pilot/Escort Vehicle is Required
http://www.dotd.louisiana.gov.highways/maintenance/permits/

Vehicles and loads over 14 feet wide may not travel on Interstate highways in Louisiana except tanks up to 16 feet in width will be allowed movement on Interstate highways subject to oversize/overweight permit restrictions
Private Escorts:
Width over 12' and up to 16' (1 front if on 2 lane;1 rear if on multi-lane),
Over 90' and up to 125' long-1 rear,
No height limit/state will route loads
New Orleans Police Escort: (504) 826-7525
Over 13'6" high/over 12' wide
Over 90' long
State Police Escort:
Over 16' wide on 2 lane hwy or on multi lane hwy,
Over 125' long
An escort vehicle may escort 2 over-length vehicles or loads, but only 1 over-width vehicle or load.

Requirements for Pilot/Escort Vehicle
General: The escorting vehicle shall be registered in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes or Reciprocal Agreement. Closed vans, buses, campers, motor homes, and motor driven cycles are not acceptable
Signs: Not stipulated for escort vehicle
Lights: An approved amber 360 degree “Emergency Warning Lamp”--includes bar, strobe, revolving, and stationary lamps.  Dome type lamp must have a lens of not less than 9” in diameter & 4” in height.
Flags: 2 red/fluorescent orange flags, 18” square mounted atop the vehicle in line w/ warning lamps (approx. 45 degree angle); extending more than 6” to either side of vehicle (total width not more 8’)
Additional equipment: 2-way radio; identification on each front door of vehicle (must have name/address or phone # & city of company/owner of vehicle); 2 rear-view mirrors;a 10 lb. BC dry or equivalent fire extinguisher; 4 15-minute burning flares; 2 red/fluorescent orange hand-held flags; 4 red/fluorescent orange flags (18” square); 2 “OVERSIZE LOAD” signs (18” x 7’) w/ black lettering on yellow  background 10” high w/ 1 1/2” brush stroke
(available for load--not required to be mounted on vehicle)

Requirements for Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator
Must have a LA APPROVED ESCORT VEHICLE PERMIT which may be obtained from any Weights and Standards Police Officer at a stationary scale location or the Louisiana Truck Center. Out-of-state companies must pay a $10.00 fee.  Each driver of an escort vehicle must have a valid operator’s license issued by a state or territory of the U.S.  A 48-HOUR TRIP PERMIT (fee-$10.00) is required for intrastate movements, otherwise escorting is limited to interstate movement only.
Each out-of-state company which operates an escort service in LA shall register annually with the Secretary
Applicants for escort vehicles must have proof to the DOT & DWSO of insurance for not less than $50,000.00 for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident, $100,000.00 for bodily injury or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, and $50,000.00 for injury to or destruction of property to others in any one (1) accident.

Dept. of Transportation Permits Office- Hours: 6:00am-5:00pm CT; M-F; Closed Sat. & Sun.
Truck Permit Section
P.O. Box 94042
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9042
(225)343-2345; (800)654-1433 (nationwide)
Fax: (225)377-7108
http://www.dotd.louisiana.gov/highways/maintenance/permits/home.asp